SYTYCD – Week One Performance

The competition has officially begun with the first performance show of Season 8. The judges for this week are staples Nigel Lythgoe and Mary Murphy, as well as actress Megan Mullally. The curse is back again this season with Mitchell Kelly not performing because of a injury. He is replaced by Season 7’s Robert Roldan.

The first performance of the evening was a African Jazz piece choreographed by Sean Cheeseman. Jordan Casanova and Tadd Gadduang performed to “Riding the Waves” by Afro Celt Sound System.

Credit to 

Sasha Mallory and Alexander Frost were next performing a contemporary routine choreographed by Travis Wall to the song “Stupid (Mark Bell mix) by Sarah McLachlan.

Credit to 

Performing a Tyce Diorio broadway piece was Clarice Ordaz and Jess LeProtto to “Me and My Baby” by Liza Minnelli.

Credit to 

Up next were Ryan Ramirez and Ricky Jaime performing a Christopher Scott lyrical hip hop number to “Ain’t No Sunshine” by Lighthouse Family.

Credit to 

As I stated earlier Mitchell Kelly was out for an injury and Robert Roldan was replacing him in a jazz piece with Caitlynn Lawson. This is a Sonya Tayeh piece to the song “In For The Kill (Skream’s Let’s Get Ravey Remix” by La Roux.

Credit to 

The first ballroom of the night was Miranda Maleski and Robert Taylor Jr. They were performing a Jason Gilkison jive to “Runaway Baby” by Bruno Mars. I couldn’t find a copy because of copyright infringements on the song.

Performing a Sean Cheeseman jazz piece was Missy Morelli and Wadi Jones to the song “Judas (R3HAB Remix) by Lady Gaga.

Credit to 

I love Ingrid Michaelson and the fact that Travis Wall is using on this show makes me really happy. She is perfect for his choreography. Melanie Moore and Marko Germar perform this contemporary routine to “Turn to Stone.”

Credit to 

Performing the second Christopher Scott routine of the night was Ashley Rich and Chris Koehl. This hip hop piece was to the song “Forget You!” by Cee Lo Green. There is no sound on the video because of copyright infringements on the song.

Credit to 

The last number of the night was Iveta Lukosuite and Nick Young’s quickstep. This Jason Gilkison number was to the song “Ballroom Blitz” by Sweet.

Credit to 


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Actress, Choreographer, Dancers, Legion Of Extraordinary Dancers, Music, Musical Theater, Producer, Singer, So You Think You Can Dance


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: